The site uses anonymous third party analytic cookies: in accessing any element/area of the site outside of this banner, you consent to receiving cookies.

Knowledge Hub

NHS England announces four new ICSs

When will the financial detail of existing ICSs be finalised?


Four areas earmarked as new integrated care systems (ICSs) have been announced by NHS England and NHS Improvement.


The STP footprints scheduled to make the evolutionary change from STPs to ICSs are:

  • Gloucestershire
  • Suffolk and North East Essex
  • West, North and East Cumbria
  • West Yorkshire and Harrogate


NHS England and NHS Improvement are expected to complete work in the next few weeks on the detail of a financial regime for the existing list of 10 ICSs, according to a Health Service Journal (HSJ) report.


A HSJ analysis last month of health system performance showed that the four newly-designated ICSs have been better performers than most others in terms of financial and access measures.


A paper presented at a joint NHS England-NHS Improvement board meeting said the systems had strong leadership teams with an appetite for taking responsibility for their own performance, and had ambitious plans for primary care and for integrating services.


Further information

HSJ: Four new ‘integrated care systems’ named

HSJ: How are different health systems performing?

NHS England: 12 million people to benefit from better joined up NHS and social care work

NHS England: Next steps on the development of integrated care systems